The Shape of Water

Here’s The Full List Of Oscar Winners From The 2018 Academy Awards

The Academy Awards are officially done and dusted for another year and as usual, the results were a mixed bag.

Guillermo del Toro’s thicc fish filmThe Shape of Water, was the big winner of the evening, earning del Toro an award for Best Director as well as taking out the big one: Best Picture. Composer Alexandre Desplat also picked a gong for Best Original Score for his work on the film.

Elsewhere, Gary Oldman took out Best Actor in a Leading Role for his part as Winston Churchill in Darkest Hour, controversially beating out performances from the likes of Timothée Chalamet (for Call Me By Your Name) and Daniel Day-Lewis (in Phantom Thread). 

Less of a surprise was Frances McDormand’s win for Best Actress in Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri. Her co-star Sam Rockwell also took home an award for his work in Three Billboards, taking out Best Supporting Actor.

The only Australian win of the evening came courtesy of Sydney editor Lee Smith, who won the gong for Film Editing for Dunkirk. Christopher Nolan’s epic war film also picked up awards for Sound Editing and Sound Mixing.

See the full list of Oscars winners below:

All The 2018 Academy Award Winners

Best Picture
Call Me By Your Name
Darkest Hour
Get Out
Lady Bird
Phantom Thread
The Post
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
WINNER: The Shape of Water

Actress in a Leading Role
Sally Hawkins, The Shape of Water
Margot Robbie, I, Tonya
Saoirse Ronan, Lady Bird
Meryl Streep, The Post
WINNER:  Frances McDormand, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Actor in a Leading Role
Timothée Chalamet, Call Me by Your Name
Daniel Day-Lewis, Phantom Thread
Daniel Kaluuya, Get Out
Denzel Washington, Roman J. Israel, Esq.
WINNER:  Gary Oldman, Darkest Hour

Actress in a Supporting Role
Mary J. Blige, Mudbound
Laurie Metcalf, Lady Bird
Lesley Manville, Phantom Thread
Octavia Spencer, The Shape of Water
WINNER:  Allison Janney, I, Tonya

Actor in a Supporting Role

Willem Dafoe, The Florida Project
Woody Harrelson, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
Richard Jenkins, The Shape of Water
Christopher Plummer, All the Money in the World
WINNER:  Sam Rockwell, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Christopher Nolan, Dunkirk
Jordan Peele, Get Out
Greta Gerwig, Lady Bird
Paul Thomas Anderson, Phantom Thread
WINNER:  Guillermo del Toro, Shape of Water

Adapted Screenplay
Scott Neustadter and Michael H. Weber, The Disaster Artist
Scott Frank, James Mangold, and Michael Green, Logan
Aaron Sorkin, Molly’s Game
Virgil Williams and Dee Rees, Mudbound
WINNER:  James Ivory, Call Me by Your Name

Original Screenplay
Emily V. Gordon and Kumail Nanjiani, The Big Sick
Greta Gerwig, Lady Bird
Guillermo del Toro and Vanessa Taylor, The Shape of Water
Martin McDonagh, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
WINNER:  Jordan Peele, Get Out

Makeup and Hairstyling
Daniel Phillips and Lou Sheppard, Victoria & Abdul
Arjen Tuiten, Wonder
WINNER:  Kazuhiro Tsuji, David Malinowski, and Lucy Sibbick, Darkest Hour

Costume Design
Jacqueline Durran, Beauty and the Beast
Jacqueline Durran, Darkest Hour
Luis Sequeira, The Shape of Water
Consolata Boyle, Victoria & Abdul
WINNER:  Mark Bridges, Phantom Thread

Documentary Feature
Abacus: Small Enough to Jail
Faces Places
Last Men in Aleppo
Strong Island
WINNER:  Icarus

Sound Editing
Julian Slater, Baby Driver
Mark Mangini and Theo Green, Blade Runner 2049
Nathan Robitaille and Nelson Ferreira, The Shape of Water
Matthew Wood and Ren Klyce, Star Wars: The Last Jedi
WINNER:  Richard King and Alex Gibson, Dunkirk

Sound Mixing
Julian Slater, Tim Cavagin, and Mary H. Ellis, Baby Driver
Ron Bartlett, Dough Hemphill, and Mac Ruth, Blade Runner 2049
Christian Cooke, Brad Zoern, and Glen Gauthier, The Shape of Water
David Parker, Michael Semanick, Ren Klyce, and Stuart Wilson, Star Wars: The Last Jedi
WINNER:  Mark Weingarten, Gregg Landarker, and Gary A. Rizzo, Dunkirk

Production Design
Beauty and the Beast (Production Design: Sarah Greenwood; Set Decoration: Katie Spencer)
Blade Runner: 2049 (Production Design: Dennis Gassner; Set Decoration: Alessandra Querzola)
Darkest Hour (Production Design: Sarah Greenwood; Set Decoration: Katie Spencer)
Dunkirk (Production Design: Nathan Crowley; Set Decoration: Gary Fettis)
WINNER:  The Shape of Water (Production Design: Paul Denham Austerberry; Set Decoration: Shane Vieau and Jeff Melvin)

Foreign Language Film
The Insult (Lebanon)
Loveless (Russia)
Body and Soul (Hungary)
The Square (Sweden)
WINNER:  A Fantastic Woman (Chile)

Animated Short Film
Garden Party
Negative Space
Revolting Rhymes
WINNER:  Dear Basketball

Animated Feature Film
The Boss Baby
The Breadwinner
Loving Vincent

Visual Effects
Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (Christopher Townsend, Guy Williams, Jonathan Fawkner, and Dan Sudick)
Kong: Skull Island (Stephen Rosenbaum, Jeff White, Scott Benza, and Mike Meinardus)
Star Wars: The Last Jedi (Ben Morris, Mike Mulholland, Neal Scanlan, and Chris Corbould)
War for the Planet of the Apes (Joe Letteri, Daniel Barrett, Dan Lemmon, and Joel Whist)
WINNER:  Blade Runner 2049 (John Nelson, Gerd Nefzer, Paul Lambert, and Richard R. Hoover)

Film Editing
Paul Machliss and Jonathan Amos, Baby Driver
Tatiana S. Riegel, I, Tonya
Sidney Wolinsky, The Shape of Water
Jon Gregory, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
WINNER:  Lee Smith, Dunkirk

Documentary Short Subject
Edith and Eddie
Knife Skills
Traffic Stop
WINNER:  Heaven Is a Traffic Jam on the 405

Live Action Short Film
DeKalb Elementary
The Eleven O’Clock
My Nephew Emmett
Watu Wote: All of Us
WINNER:  The Silent Child

Bruno Delbonnel, Darkest Hour
Hoyte van Hoytema, Dunkirk
Rachel Morrison, Mudbound
Dan Laustsen, The Shape of Water
WINNER:  Roger A. Deakins, Blade Runner: 2049

Original Score
Hans Zimmer, Dunkirk
Jonny Greenwood, Phantom Thread
John Williams, Star Wars: The Last Jedi
Carter Burwell, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
WINNER:  Alexandre Desplat, The Shape of Water

Original Song
“Mighty River,” Mudbound
“Mystery of Love,” Call Me by Your Name
“Stand Up for Something,” Marshall
“This Is Me,” The Greatest Showman
WINNER:  “Remember Me,” Coco

Originally published on Junkee.